Week 1, Tuesday

March 24, 2009 at 8:05 pm (Java, Week 1) (, , , , , , )

Okay, so today was harder. I had a flurry of discoveries this morning as I got my questions answered from some work I did last night on the Tic-Tac-Toe game, and then I hit a big roadblock this afternoon. Lesson learned: interrupt when necessary and get questions answered rather than stalling on my own if I’m really stuck.

My problem this afternoon was the Minimax algorithm. I’d looked at it briefly before, after I had finished the Ruby version of the game, but didn’t understand it and gave up. Since the algorithm is part of this assignment, I buckled down and read several descriptions of the algorithm that I found on Google. I thought I understood the mechanics of the algorithm, decision tree and all, but two things were eluding me: the implementation of the decision tree and the computation of the value of a given board position. Eventually I got close (basically translating the pseudocode to Java and Tic-Tac-Toe), but I really did need Micah to help me think through my implementation line by line in order to see a big mistake I was making with recursion. It’s not there yet, but I think it’s close.

Which leads me to the other (maybe bigger) afternoon problem: in my efforts to understand and implement the algorithm, I had neglected TDD and avoided writing tests. Because it was hard => because I’m not good enough at it yet. Well, Micah’s given me some ideas to begin with: sending in board positions where there is a definite best move, and testing that the algorithm spits out the right one, along with some other lower-level things. He did say it’s hard to test, so that makes me feel a little better, but I have to get to the point where I’m not intimidated by TDD. I caught myself jumping ahead to the implementation several times today (and once in front of Micah IN THE TEST CODE – whoops!).

On to the more complete wins of the day, from the morning: I came in with a couple of questions about how to test specific points in the project. Let’s say I have Game, Player, and Board classes. Now, I needed to test that when I told a Player to make a move, the Player would pick a move, and then populate the Board with that move. I was struggling to find a way to verify that the Player had told the Board to populate. It turned out that I just needed a mock Board object. I had an inkling that this is something mocks would be good for, because I remembered a bit of RSpec (ONLY a bit) where an object might have “should_receive(:populate)” to do something similar. I was really glad to come across this problem, because nearly every time I’d read about mocks and stubs in the past I’d come away feeling dumb and defeated. This was simple, though: I just derived a MockBoard class from Board, added a field on the class (private boolean populateCalled = false;), and overrode the populate() method, setting populateCalled = true inside it (and calling super.populate() when I needed the real behavior later).

I’m still incredibly slow in IntelliJ, so I was happy to pick up a few IDEAs about it today. Get it? Get it? I know, I’m incorrigible… Shift-F6 is the Rename refactoring. Wow, is that going to save a lot of time! I think you have to be hovering on the declaration, but the program goes through and changes the name of that method/field/variable/class, in a pretty smart way.

The biggest IntelliJ thing I’m excited to know about is Live Templates, which right now seems exactly like TextMate snippets. Micah wrote me a quick one that does the skeleton of a JUnit test on a tab-complete of “test”, and I can see how this is going to come in handy. I always liked scripting up and using snippets to blast out often-used ERB template things for Rails, and I’m definitely going to start paying more attention to the things that I end up typing over and over so that I can give those to IntelliJ to do.

3 Comments

  1. Corey Haines said,

    Thanks for posting these! I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts as you make your way into our wonderful field. You are very lucky, indeed, to get the opportunity at 8th Light.

    • trptcolin said,

      Thanks, Corey! Your journeyman tour interviews were a big inspiration for me to seek out people to learn from.

  2. CasTex said,

    Thanks for this post, I am interested in.

Leave a Reply

