Week 1, Thursday

March 26, 2009 at 7:05 pm (Java, Week 1) (, , , , , , , )

I FINALLY got my head wrapped around the minimax algorithm today. I went more slowly and stepped away more often, and I finally have an unbeatable computer in Java. This took me a heck of a lot longer than it did in Ruby, but I think it was reasonable considering my limited Java knowledge, a new algorithm, and new knowledge about things to avoid.

My last step was kind of an interesting one: I rewrote (not refactored) part of the algorithm in a way that was easy for me to understand, very slowly and deliberately, and it came out right! Imagine that…

// before:
bestScore = Math.max(bestScore, -minimax(child, depth - 1, otherPlayer);

// after:
otherPlayerScore = minimax(child, depth - 1, otherPlayer);
maxOtherPlayerScore = Math.max(otherPlayerScore, maxOtherPlayerScore);
bestScore = -maxOtherPlayerScore;

If you take a minute or two to look through this, you’ll see that the two versions are not equivalent. Although I could break the second version down into one line, I don’t trust myself to be able to understand it as well later on, so I’m leaving it explicitly spelled out this way.

I demoed the game for Micah and indeed, it seemed to work correctly. Micah had me draw up a UML diagram of the code in its current state, with all the methods and dependencies that I knew about, and Micah pointed out violations of the SOLID principles for object-oriented class design. I’d read about them but needed a refresher and deeper understanding, so he walked me through each of the principles, asking me what they were and where I saw problems. I didn’t catch them all of, course, but I was glad I at least had a cursory introduction already. I made sure that I understood the kinds of situations in which a principle violation would bite me.

For those unfamilar with these, you can learn more on Ward Cunningham’s wiki (he’s the inventor of the wiki, among other distinctions):

I just read about these for the first time a few months ago (they’re detailed in Agile Software Development: Principles, Practices, and Patterns by Robert C. Martin (Micah’s dad, incidentally). I had more Dependency Inversion violations than anything (though certainly not as many as my Ruby version had), but there were some Open-Closed problems as well.

My next step, which seems realistic for an Agile/XP project, is to put a GUI on top of my Java code. I haven’t done anything to speak of with Swing, so I spent a couple of hours this afternoon investigating the API and figuring out sizing, colors, and other things I’m going to need to draw the board.

I have an Open-Closed violation or two around my GameDisplay class, which means that my design is going to have to change around that point in order to substitute the GUI for my command-line output. The good news is that I HAVE a display class in the first place; my Ruby display code was coupled to the rest of the game in several places.

Leave a Reply

