Week 1, Weekend

March 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm (Java, Week 1) (, , , )

I spent a lot of time this weekend trying to wrap my head around Java/Swing listeners and how to do TDD with this setup. Eventually I backed up a bit and dug into some more basic Java knowledge – reading from Learning Java by Patrick Niemeyer and Jonathan Knudsen. I just was a little overwhelmed with all I need to learn, and I wanted to focus things a bit more. And it turns out, after spending a good portion of the weekend looking at event listener code, I have a lot better grasp of it now. I was able to delete big chunks of my old GUI code and simplify some things. There are still LOTS of things I need to learn about testing this stuff; I think I might’ve painted myself into a corner with my console-based presenter, so that testing is difficult. Maybe there’s a way around it I’m not seeing, though. Basically, I have the core logic sending a request to a controller (for a move, the game type, or playing again), and the controller listening to the view layer for the answer. Right now there’s a lot of state-saving variables (boolean waitingForInput, stuff like that) that I know there has to be a way around.

At any rate, I’m going to spend some more time with the Java book over the coming week, so that I can get a better handle on things. I’ve been a bit spoiled in that I’ve worked with Ruby for the past couple of years, and have had all that time to absorb and read about the language. So much to learn! It’s so motivating when I come into work and literally everyone else knows so much more than I do (and are more disciplined). The advice that I’ve read from Chad Fowler (My Job Went to India) and many others to “Be the Worst” is really paying off.

I also realized that I never blogged about our Friday Lunch & Learn session – we had a Randori session, where we worked in five-minute pair programming sessions to build a small app. It was humbling to get back into Ruby, which I felt great about two weeks ago, and forget the syntax to set an instance variable in front of everybody (I was being Java-y). But it was excellent to see everybody in action and to hear people’s thought processes as we started the app, when the design was so sparse.

Leave a Reply

