Week 2, Tuesday

March 31, 2009 at 6:57 pm (Ruby, Week 2) (, , , , , )

Today was my first day of really serious pair programming: Eric Meyer and I worked on a Rails application, learning Cucumber together along the way. Some of the most interesting things I’d read about pairing really proved true for me today: it was more fun than developing alone, it made me concentrate more and think through decisions better than I would alone, and it definitely gave us a better result than I’d get alone (I can’t speak for Eric!).

Cucumber is a great acceptance testing framework. The idea is, you write the tests in plain text, then wire them up using regular expressions to Webrat, Selenium, Watir, Mechanize, etc. There is a little more structure than that, but your best guess is to jump right in and try it out. Even if you’re not doing unit tests, these can really prove that a given feature works, and it only takes an hour or so to really get the hang of it. Cucumber even generates regexes for you to copy and paste, based on your Givens, Whens, and Thens. If you’re interested in learning Cucumber, check out Ryan Bates’ Railscast on Cucumber. It’s really clear and you don’t need to be experienced with testing to understand it (and it’s brand new – just came out yesterday). I’d definitely start here if you’re doing Rails work and are interested in getting into testing. And if you’re doing Rails work and NOT interested in getting into testing… Well, I’d still start here.

It’s nice to be doing Ruby again, where I have a lot more experience, but I quickly realized that the way I did Rails isn’t anything like the way 8th Light does Rails. Basically everything gets unit tested, including views. One result is that I’m very confident about the solidity of this application after running all of the specs, but another equally important one is that when things need to change, we find out very quickly when things get broken, and we know when everything is fixed. So we don’t waste time click-testing through sample user workflows as each change gets made, but we still know we’re OK.

I had to stop our coding process several times to ask questions and sometimes just look at the code for another minute or so to absorb the reasons for testing decisions. Mocks and stubs are looking more normal, and I’m even starting to notice ahead of time when one will be needed. I still struggle with starting out on a testing path, and I’m sure it’ll stay that way for awhile, but I know I’ll progress with time and experience.

Leave a Reply

