Exploring Limelight

April 28, 2009 at 9:44 pm (Limelight, Ruby, Week 6) (, , , , , )

I spent the day continuing and accelerating my learning in the Limelight GUI framework. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, but everything you write is Ruby code (there’s Java behind the scenes, so you run your applications with the JRuby interpreter and gems. Limelight is still very young (pre-1.0), and as with any framework, it takes time and advice to learn how the framework wants you to code. I ran across a couple of things that I felt would be more intuitive with a slightly different API (mostly styling-related), and Micah agreed and had me report them on the project’s Lighthouse page. There’s not a ton of tutorial documentation on Limelight so far, but here are the most important ones I know about already:

  • Installing Limelight
  • Calculator in 10 Minutes Screencast – Micah walks you through building a lightweight calculator application
  • Tutorial #1 – there’s a slight tweak you need to do to get it working this way, at least on the latest Limelight version
  • A Cook’s Tour of Limelight – great deeper-level overview of the parts of Limelight (Production, Props, Scenes, Players, Stages)
  • Style Attributes – similar to CSS style attributes, but with some awesome additions like built-in gradients and rounded corners (there are plans for drop shadows as well)

I’m sure as time goes by, there will be a lot more available, especially as JRuby gains in popularity. Keep your ears open!

I got the Tic-Tac-Toe game working with human players, which was a big step. There are still some kinks to be worked out with the “Play Again” process (I think my Java code is left waiting for input), but I’m excited to have it working, and to have spent the day getting better and more confident with BDD. Once I’ve patched those up, the real work will start on this assignment: styling it up, adding some effects, and in general just making it really presentable, with relation to the UI and design. I know my designer pals would be scared to hear about me designing anything, but I’d like to add some more design skill to the old bag of tricks, so I may be hitting them up for links to design blogs and other learning resources.

Leave a Reply

