Programming parallels with trumpet playing

May 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm (Ruby, Week 9) (, , , , )

Throughout the day, Micah and I did some ping-pong TDD development in Ruby, getting a good bit of the way through the feature we’re working on. There are still some things to do on this, and I’m going to need to get quicker at changing contexts within the application. It’s not trivial – most Rails apps I’ve worked on have been basically CRUD applications, so this is definitely the most complex (and interesting) project I’ve worked on. The code is very clean, but there were some requirements that increased the complexity a good bit (involving AJAX where we might ordinarily use a simpler 2-way communication method). I’m sure things will get easier as I get more exposure to the project.

With a big project like this, I’m seeing a convincing parallel between my programming life and my trumpet-playing life. As a working trumpet player, I often needed to perform music that seemed too hard for me. In high-pressure situations like these, I just had find a way to make it happen. I would practice and do my best, and in the end I often just had to accept the fact that I couldn’t play it as well as I imagined it could be played by my favorite trumpeters. I feel kind of like that on this project – Micah is of course very comfortable on the project, partly because he’s been on it longer, but mostly because he’s a great programmer. The big plus here is that because we’re pairing most of the time, I don’t have to settle for a subpar performance. The aspects where my junior-ness really shows are the length of time it takes me to figure out how to write the next test or to make it pass, and the number of times I have to ask Micah for explanations and/or confirmation. The end result is still good code, Micah’s making sure of that; it’s just slower going for now.

Just like with trumpet playing, I know things are going to get easier as I get better. How do I make that happen? I’ve improved a lot since I arrived in Libertyville, so my plan is partly to continue on the path I’m on: listening, watching, practicing, and performing (just as I’d do with trumpet). As a trumpet player, there are 2 basic ways I get to the point where I can play a piece beautifully: practicing fundamental skills, and practicing parts of the difficult piece at a slower tempo or lower register. I have the luxury right now of being a little slow, but it needs to be faster. I’m not panicking or pushing myself to go faster than I’m able to do well, but I’m going to start digging into the parts of this project that are difficult for me, in order to get more comfortable, so that I can get faster at thinking through things.

Leave a Reply

