The big dummy moment and first remote pairing

May 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm (Java, Javascript, Ruby, Week 9) (, , , , , , , , )

This morning I finished up most of a task from our biggest story, with some pointers from Micah. The big dummy moment came at the end of the morning, when I spent about an hour debugging why Javascript wasn’t working properly in our customized Webkit browser, and after going through everything I could think of, I realized that the browser had cached the Javascript file! Ack. So, my choices were to figure out where the cache was and clear it, or to do what Rails has always done for me behind the scenes to prevent caching: append a question mark and a big number to the filename. We’re using Sinatra, so I wrote a simple helper that does the latter:

def no_cache
"?#{Time.now.to_i}"
end

Pretty simple, but I’m not sure I like the way it looks tacked onto the end of the filename in the Erb templates; that may need to change to take a parameter…

I spent a little time in the afternoon working on a JRuby bug that the JRuby team posted on their Twitter feed. The problem was with Array#pack, which I’d never used before (and quite honestly, still don’t entirely understand). It takes a formatting string and packs an array into a string. There was a problem when the asterisk (*) was used in a format string like “A4N*” – it’s supposed to take all the rest of the parameters from the string, but it was taking too few. I tracked it down to a change in value of a local variable (listSize). It was hard to spot, because I wouldn’t have expected the list size to change, so I wasn’t looking for that. Lots of System.out.println’s and compiling ensued. It really gave me an appreciation for Ruby’s interpreted nature. I’m sure there’s a way I could’ve streamlined things, but it was taking me 30 seconds to build the project each time, which is an eternity when you’re just debugging and adding print statements (and especially if you’re not too sure of what you’re looking for).

Micah and I did some remote pairing in the late afternoon, which I’d never done. We used iChat, which was really pretty awesome. We had some problems with audio volume and crashy programs, but all in all, I think it was pretty successful. Micah came up with a new data structure to eliminate some network traffic in our application, and we implemented it, simplifying code and adding a feature along the way. This was code I hadn’t seen before, but it felt a bit easier to get around – partly because it’s just simpler, and (hopefully) partly because I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

