Fitnesse (the extra “e” is for “excellent”)

May 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm (Javascript, Ruby, Week 9) (, , , , )

Today was my introduction to Fitnesse. I’d heard Micah and Doug talking about it, and of course I’ve read about the acceptance testing framework before, but I hadn’t every really looked into the code or used it outside of a few minutes during my interview here. As a high-level testing tool, it reminds me a lot of Cucumber. Both frameworks have a good argument for being the most customer-friendly. Cucumber is written in plain English sentences, whereas Fitnesse has a more complicated syntax to learn. On the other hand, Fitnesse is hosted in a wiki, so the acceptance test author doesn’t need to worry about using Subversion, Git, or any other source control management system. What we call “steps” in Cucumber are “fixtures” in Fitnesse, which may seem a bit strange to people coming from Rails, where fixtures are sample data (also for use in tests). I’ll have to get in deeper to see more changes.

I need to go through Brett Schuchert’s Fitnesse Tutorials to learn which commands are built into RubySlim (the language that runs the backend of our tests) and which were created especially for this project. I was able to get a couple of tests written towards the end of the day (with lots of help from test that were already written, and confirmation from Micah), but I’d have a hard time writing my own from scratch.

Micah and I wrote some AJAX code with JQuery that that ends up doing something similar to what we’d use RJS for in Rails (we’re using Sinatra). It definitely took a little longer than RJS would have, but on the other hand, we were forced to think about exactly how we were interacting between the browser and server. I’d done just a small bit of this before, working on a typing trainer web app for programmers, but this time I felt much more comfortable (my informal functional programming study helped, I think).

I drove Caleb to the train station after work, and we talked about his Tic-Tac-Toe implementation (he’s working on minimax right now). He’s doing his in Java as well, and it sounds like things are going great. My impression is that he’s done a better job of test-driving his work than me, though I’m getting closer to making it a habit. It’s inspiring to be surrounded by a bunch of motivated people who are all working to get better!

1 Comment

  1. Markus Gärtner said,

    I helped Bret with some of his Tutorials while working through them. They’re really good at pointing out Slim features – oh, I went through the Java ones, don’t know if there are also tutorials for Ruby.

Leave a Reply

