Photoshop, Radiant, and threads

May 28, 2009 at 6:59 pm (Graphic Design, Week 10) (, , , )

I polished off the old Photoshop skills today to put together a design for an upcoming event web site. Things came back to me relatively quickly, but it’s still an amazing program that I’ll probably never master. The CS 3 version of Photoshop, incidentally, gives you the ability to select multiple layers in the Layers palette. I’m pretty pleased with the way the design is coming together so far; it’s almost done; I’m just waiting on a logo to finalize the look for the header. I ended up using a lot of shapes and the Direct Selection tool to modify them when the shapes needed to change. It seems like the Agile way to design: change becomes very easy, compared to just painting and filling selections.

Caleb and I are going to be working on the site together, and we’re pretty sure we’re going to use Radiant for the site. Radiant is a CMS (content management system), using Rails. It’s installed as a gem, which makes things very easy and makes our work mostly configuration rather than re-inventing the wheel by coding up an admin section. We don’t need anything too complicated, just some image uploads and static information. We took some time this morning checking out Radiant’s extension system to make sure it’s going to be customizable enough, and I was really pleased to see how easy it was. I’m looking at Keith Bingman’s paperclipped extension, which is based on Thoughtbot’s excellent Rails plugin: Paperclip.

I’m also working through Uncle Bob’s The Craftsman articles (click “Craftsmen” on the link to get to the articles), which I’d started a month or two ago, but fizzled out on. Justin Martin’s apprenticeship blog reminded me to get going on them again, and I’m thinking a lot more about concurrency. Threads have seemed fairly magical when I’ve used them (and seen Micah use them) so far, so I definitely need to do more reading and practice with them.

Leave a Reply

