Scheme presentation and more fun with Scala/Swing

June 7, 2009 at 9:50 pm (Scala, Scheme, Week 11) (, , , , )

I gave my lunch & learn presentation on Scheme Friday, and it went pretty well. I found that I had forgotten to correct one of my slide mistakes, but aside from that I felt good about it. I went through the basics of Scheme/Lisp syntax and talked through some examples, and then finished up with the prime factors kata in Scheme. It went almost twice as long as I’d expected, since we stopped several times to discuss and answer questions. I took suggestions on the kata as well, which also slowed things down, but I felt like it was a better way to teach the process of refactoring to an inner recursive function (in place of what would be a loop in an imperative language). Everyone seemed interested and I got some great advice afterwards. The biggest things were that I didn’t always stand up (sometimes camping out in a chair) and that I kind of half-heartedly slapped a name on the presentation (“Scheme for Rubyists”) with only a few references to Ruby (where I could have had comparable Ruby examples for all my Scheme code).

Here are my [corrected] slides, if you want to get the basic gist (unfortunately, the formatting doesn’t translate perfectly to ppt file format – I used OpenOffice): Scheme Presentation

Friday afternoon and this weekend, I got a basic working version of Tic-Tac-Toe using Swing in Scala. I still have plenty to do: just as before, with Java Swing, I was basically spiking to learn the framework, and so there are some GUI tests missing. For now, I’ve put in TODO’s for implementation code I don’t have tests for; tomorrow I’ll start commenting out those pieces of code and driving them test-first. I feel good about my board and player classes; Friday I implemented some in-memory caching to speed up the computer player’s board-scoring computation. I still need to do some thinking about the technical article part of my apprenticeship challenges. I’m leaning towards something on functional programming, perhaps a few refactorings from imperative code to functional.

2 Comments

  1. Kurt W. Andrews said,

    I was reading your presentation on Scheme for Rubyists and noticed a slide on using MIT Scheme and Aquamacs. I’m currently going through the SICP lectures and would like to work the exercises and lecture code using these software packages on my mac.

    I was wondering if you would be able to expand on that slide with the details of your presentation, especially the bullet on setting up your text editor. Is there a way to integrate auquamacs and MIT Scheme? I tried the EDWIN editor that comes with MIT Scheme, but gave it up for aquamacs in short order.

    The MIT Scheme for Mac OSX is packaged as an app, but I think all the raw scheme programs and utilities are down inside the resources directory.

    Thanks,

    Kurt

Leave a Reply

