Tidying up Tic-Tac-Toe and some serious writing

June 12, 2009 at 4:53 pm (Scala, Week 12) (, , , , )

Today was packed! I started out by wrapping some more tests that I’d been wanting to write (clearing out TODO’s that had been hanging around). None of them were actually very hard, which was a welcome relief after struggling a bit yesterday with integration tests.

Then I drew some UML to analyze my code for SOLID problems (and package principle problems). Things were actually not as nasty as I had feared, but there were four or five violations that became immediately apparent. I had my Player factory in my basegame package, so there were some circular dependency problems between the basegame and players packages. I solved that pretty easily by moving the factory into the players package where it belonged. Another problem I had was with my Game class depending on a concrete Board implementation for a clear() method, which I got around by requiring my Boards to implement that clear() method.

After cleaning up these violations, I worked on refactoring my test code, some of which was not DRY at all (I learned kind of late in the game about Scalatests’s BeforeAndAfter trait). I also wrote a kind of neat trait that allows for easy Console redirection. I also went ahead and posted the code to GitHub: http://github.com/trptcolin/tictactoe-scala/tree/master. The trait I’m talking about is at test/unit/console/ConsoleRedirection.scala. Passing a function as a parameter makes this kind of thing easy – where you need to wrap a function in some other function calls.

For the time being, you’ll need Scala in your path to actually run the game. I may at some point turn this into an executable jarfile, but not tonight.

I also did a lot of work based on helpful feedback and suggestions from Micah, Caleb, and Eric S. on a more in-depth and technical blog post that’s my other remaining apprenticeship challenge. It’s a refactoring of a simple example to a more functional style in Scala, and it took a lot more reflection and thinking than I expected it to. It’s not that I expected to breeze through it, it’s more that I hit several points where I thought things were great, and then got feedback that made me take a few steps back, because the issues they raised were things I hadn’t even considered.

Today at Lunch & Learn we watched the Clojure Peepcode. It was pretty awesome, but there was a point maybe 3/4 of the way through where I should’ve taken a break, because I got a bit lost. I was definitely glad I’d had some experience with Scheme (Clojure, like Scheme, is a Lisp dialect) – that helped a lot at the beginning. There’s one feature of Clojure in particular that seems amazing to me. My understanding was that if you construct an expression where a symbol is used in place of a function, and a map is the argument to it, the expression will result in finding the value in the map whose key is the symbol at the start of the original expression. I’ll have to look into this further, and I’m not sure if there’s a practical reason for this, but it seems to me to be along the lines of Ruby’s 5.times {puts "hello world"}. Pretty cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

